So, Citi fucking sucks. They need to be sued. Class action anyone?
Situation:
I owed Citi some money. It’s me, it happens…. Anyways, I paid them what they wanted and they shut up, so all was well. Or not… Now, over a year later I get a letter from the collections agency saying Citi wants money. So wtf?! I call them, and they tell me that Citi sold them the account to collect it. No problem, not their fault. So I call Citi to piss and moan because they are fucking retarded. Now, here’s where things get really fucked up, and why Citi needs to be sued.
THEY HAVE NO RECORD OF MY ACCOUNT PERIOD! WTF?!?!?!?!
There’s obviously a serious problem some where. They are required to keep records for 7 years (federal law). Now, the situation gets worse.
EVERY TIME I CALL THEY “LOSE” MORE INFO ABOUT ME! WTF?!?!?!
First time I called, they pulled up my account info, told me it was sold to said collections agency.
Second time I called, they couldn’t pull up my account, just could tell me it was sold to said collections agency.
Third time I called, THERE’S NO FUCKING RECORD OF ME EVER HAVING AN ACCOUNT!
Problem: I paid them, and per WellsFargo, Citi got the check and cashed it. So that’s not the issue.
Now I’m between a rock and a hard place. Thankfully, I have the records from paying them. Now I just have to figure out what to do and who to rip a new one…
FUCK CITI, DON’T EVER BANK WITH THEM!!!
Well, looks like I’ve made a serious dent in their operations.
Damage done:
1.) Facebook group removed
2.) Spread of trojan stopped
3.) Krekib.com no longer hosts pirated music
Apparently spreading the word about their bullshit, and sicking the RIAA on them seems to have done the job. They seem to be hiding their sorry little faggot asses now.
I’m going to monitor the situation for a while and see what happens…
Update 1.) I totally missed that their site clearly says right on the top to “click the ads on the right”, which happen to be Google Ads. This is a violation of Google’s policy, so I contacted Google about it. If all goes well Google will remove their ads so they can’t make anymore money scamming people.
SCAM ALERT! Read Carefully!
This started off when I got an invite to join the Facebook Group “We Will Not Pay To Use Facebook. We Are Gone If This Happens” (see: http://www.facebook.com/group.php?v=info&gid=201854959670 but don’t actually join)
Knowing this would never happen, I figured it was a scam of sorts and decided to investigate.
Sure enough, I was correct!
Here’s the details:
The group itself isn’t exactly about Facebook not being free. Per the info page: “Apparently if Facebook gets sold then theres a major possibility that it will turn into a “Paysite”. This is just stupid! Lets all stick together on this one and let them know that we will leave Facebook if they decide to charge us to use it.”
Now, this is of course complete bullshit. I decided I’d click on the link to see what the site was all about. Scam sure enough. It wants you to click on a bunch of ads and what not, and lets you download pirated music.
So, I’ve reported it to the RIAA (Yes whoever owns krekib.com and krekib.net, I’m sending the RIAA after your faggot ass, hope you enjoy getting sued). I should also be able to report it to the FCC and the Department of Commerce since it’s in violation of several of their laws as well. So, hopefully that dude likes getting sued by the feds, because I’m making sure it’ll happen. There’s a copy of the notice to the RIAA on my site of course, it’s the previous post. Any non-confidential correspondence from any of the said government agencies will be posted as well.
Going back to the Facebook group, I found even more of a scam. They want you to automatically invite everyone you know on Facebook. This either doesn’t work, or at least not for me since I’m anal when it comes to security. Either way, they want you to try it, so don’t.
Now, it gets even better still. The guy, well, I can actually make a direct reference since he is committing a felony, Michel Sleiman (his profile: http://www.facebook.com/michelbeik2?ref=mf) and Yousef Joseph (his profile: http://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=100000595594685&ref=mf) want you to friend them to get a ’secret application download link’ to keep Facebook free. Let’s stop and think for a second….what’s this secret application going to be….none other than a virus of course!
So by downloading whatever they want you to (I’m not going to try it, I’m on a Windows box I’d rather not destroy at the moment, I may attempt to remotely fetch it from my Linux box at home later (I’m on vacation)) you’re just infecting yourself with a trojan. So, needless to say, don’t do it!
Plus, they want you to friend them. I’m not exactly sure what the point in this is besides to look at all your information on your profile. Either way, don’t do it!
So, in the end, the site is illegal, the application is a virus, and those two guys are scammers.
Let’s see how the feds handle this one, hopefully the two fuck heads end up in federal prison