Online
Online Topics
Well, looks like I’ve made a serious dent in their operations.
Damage done:
1.) Facebook group removed
2.) Spread of trojan stopped
3.) Krekib.com no longer hosts pirated music
Apparently spreading the word about their bullshit, and sicking the RIAA on them seems to have done the job. They seem to be hiding their sorry little faggot asses now.
I’m going to monitor the situation for a while and see what happens…
Update 1.) I totally missed that their site clearly says right on the top to “click the ads on the right”, which happen to be Google Ads. This is a violation of Google’s policy, so I contacted Google about it. If all goes well Google will remove their ads so they can’t make anymore money scamming people.
SCAM ALERT! Read Carefully!
This started off when I got an invite to join the Facebook Group “We Will Not Pay To Use Facebook. We Are Gone If This Happens” (see: http://www.facebook.com/group.php?v=info&gid=201854959670 but don’t actually join)
Knowing this would never happen, I figured it was a scam of sorts and decided to investigate.
Sure enough, I was correct!
Here’s the details:
The group itself isn’t exactly about Facebook not being free. Per the info page: “Apparently if Facebook gets sold then theres a major possibility that it will turn into a “Paysite”. This is just stupid! Lets all stick together on this one and let them know that we will leave Facebook if they decide to charge us to use it.”
Now, this is of course complete bullshit. I decided I’d click on the link to see what the site was all about. Scam sure enough. It wants you to click on a bunch of ads and what not, and lets you download pirated music.
So, I’ve reported it to the RIAA (Yes whoever owns krekib.com and krekib.net, I’m sending the RIAA after your faggot ass, hope you enjoy getting sued). I should also be able to report it to the FCC and the Department of Commerce since it’s in violation of several of their laws as well. So, hopefully that dude likes getting sued by the feds, because I’m making sure it’ll happen. There’s a copy of the notice to the RIAA on my site of course, it’s the previous post. Any non-confidential correspondence from any of the said government agencies will be posted as well.
Going back to the Facebook group, I found even more of a scam. They want you to automatically invite everyone you know on Facebook. This either doesn’t work, or at least not for me since I’m anal when it comes to security. Either way, they want you to try it, so don’t.
Now, it gets even better still. The guy, well, I can actually make a direct reference since he is committing a felony, Michel Sleiman (his profile: http://www.facebook.com/michelbeik2?ref=mf) and Yousef Joseph (his profile: http://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=100000595594685&ref=mf) want you to friend them to get a ’secret application download link’ to keep Facebook free. Let’s stop and think for a second….what’s this secret application going to be….none other than a virus of course!
So by downloading whatever they want you to (I’m not going to try it, I’m on a Windows box I’d rather not destroy at the moment, I may attempt to remotely fetch it from my Linux box at home later (I’m on vacation)) you’re just infecting yourself with a trojan. So, needless to say, don’t do it!
Plus, they want you to friend them. I’m not exactly sure what the point in this is besides to look at all your information on your profile. Either way, don’t do it!
So, in the end, the site is illegal, the application is a virus, and those two guys are scammers.
Let’s see how the feds handle this one, hopefully the two fuck heads end up in federal prison
I have beef with a certain site for being a huge scam. So, since they are hosting pirated music, I figured I’d report it. Reporting piracy to the RIAA isn’t easy, getting a hold of them takes some effort. Here’s a copy of the email.
MIME-Version: 1.0
Received: by 10.204.77.133 with HTTP; Sun, 20 Dec 2009 17:54:07 -0800 (PST)
Date: Sun, 20 Dec 2009 20:54:07 -0500
Delivered-To: jmoschetti45@gmail.com
Message-ID:
Subject: Reporting Piracy
From: Joe Moschetti
To: antipiracy@riaa.com
Content-Type: multipart/alternative; boundary=00504502d5c7619038047b335d1a
--00504502d5c7619038047b335d1a
Content-Type: text/plain; charset=ISO-8859-1
The website krekib.com and krekib.net are hosting a lot of pirated songs.
---
Joe Moschetti
--00504502d5c7619038047b335d1a
Content-Type: text/html; charset=ISO-8859-1
The website krekib.com and krekib.net are hosting a lot of pirated songs.
---
Joe Moschetti
--00504502d5c7619038047b335d1a--